• Free The Ant-Man of Malfen (The Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf) [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    The Nameless Dwarf follows the trail of the last of his race to the mountains bordering Qlippoth, a wasteland born from the dreams of a craven god.

    But the survival of the dwarves depends on his willingness to confront the bloody deeds of his past, and the ruler of the brigand town of Malfen, who guards the pass into Qlippoth—an aberration known as the Ant-Man.

    The Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf are a blend of Sword and Sorcery and contemporary fantasy, combining strange worlds, dark magic, heroic action and an astonishing depth of world building.

    The Ant-Man of Malfen reintroduces the Nameless Dwarf from the acclaimed SHADER series by D.P. Prior.

    Nameless is a manic-depressive pariah whose past is littered with atrocities. With an almost elemental ferocity and a gift for violence, he alternates between bouts of crippling depression and boisterous episodes of elation, which are usually brought on by the prospect of a good fight. He also has an eye for the women – particularly those under four feet tall.

    This story also introduces Silas Thrall, a student of the mantic arts with a dark secret that consumes him more each day; and Nils Fargin, son of the most feared guildmaster in New Jerusalem.

    Continue Reading
  • Free The Sin Eater’s Promise (Of Angels & Demons) [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Let the battle for souls begin.
    Sin eater, Desdenova Fleetwood dreamed of falling in love—but knew it could never happen to her. When the mysterious soul bringer, Blackthorn Regis, demands she give up her livelihood, the two question their very reason for living—and loving.

    This short story was previously published in THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF PARANORMAL ROMANCE 2 (Oct ’10), and is set in Michele Hauf’s BEAUTIFUL CREATURES world. It is a paranormal romance suitable for adults and YA reading.

    Continue Reading
  • Day One: Configuring Junos Basics [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    This second book in the Junos® Fundamentals Series helps you to configure the basic settings of your device and to learn more about configuration mode. These settings are the first steps to configuring a Junos device, whether you are setting up a router, switch, or security platform. It’s fast and it’s easy with step-by-step instructions. Day One: Configuring Junos Basics continues the practical tutorial for first-time users of Junos and Juniper products, but can also be used as a reference or refresher for more experienced Junos administrators.

    IT’S DAY ONE AND YOU HAVE A JOB TO DO, SO LEARN HOW TO:
    – Create a handy checklist of settings to use in configuring the system basics
    – Configure base system settings n Create login accounts and permissions n Set up SNMP to work with your existing systems
    – Monitor your device remotely and configure system logs
    – Installs Web-based management n Make changes faster with configuration shortcuts
    – Streamline device setup with configuration groups and templates
    – Compare your resulting configuration to the booklet example

    Continue Reading
  • Free Loss Leader (Short Story) [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Originally appeared in Andromeda Spaceways issue #3. Issue 5 cover artist Dion Hamill was so taken with the story that it inspired him to paint The Long Sleep in 2003.

    Synopsis: After delays and last-minute setbacks, the first colony ship leaves planet Earth for a distant star. Join the crew as they discover all is not as it seems…

    Reviews from ASIF:

    “… pure science fiction and, just between ourselves, an entirely evil tale, suggesting a far more likely approach to Earth colonizing the universe than I have seen in a long time.”

    “… a tale of space colonization as executed with corporate corruption (the kind you probably, sadly know firsthand), written with a dawning, chilling, believable cynicism.”

    Continue Reading
  • Free Dark Quarry (A Mike Angel Private Eye Mystery) [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Synopsis of Dark Quarry, by David H. Fears

    This first in the “Dark” series of Mike Angel, Private Investigator mysteries is a wild ride, set in the New York/New Jersey and Chicago areas in 1960. If you like complex plots, soul-tortured protagonists, and suspense, you’ll be hooked by this series. The first volume is historical fiction, involving names and places connected with remnants of the infamous Purple Gang of the 1930s. Suspense, seduction and even some suupernatural elements are involved, though this is more of a mystery series in the vein of Chandler, Spillane, Hammett.

    Burdened by the unsolved murder of his father, a career NYPD lieutenant whose “voice” warns whenever danger is near, 30-year-old Mike Angel is a Korean vet and bored private investigator of insurance fraud. When a wealthy ex-college buddy hires him to tail Joe Ambler, a petty blackmailer, Mike fixates on Kimbra, the blackmailer’s woman, a stunning beauty who commits murder. Mike impulsively helps her dispose of the body and finds himself on the wrong side of the law.
    Mike then discovers the dead man was the grandson of a feared and legendary mob leader, founder of Detroit’s Purple Gang of the 1920s and 30s, possibly still alive. The same week, a well-dressed thug comes looking for Ambler, and the wealthy buddy who hired Mike runs off with Kimbra and is murdered in the Bahamas.

    Kimbra disappears. While searching for her Mike stumbles across connections to the Russian-Cuban branch of the ring responsible for a string of unsolved murders in three states.

    Seduction, deception, murders, shootouts, and crooked officials take Mike on a dangerous mission to the final showdown at Russian mob headquarters outside the small town of Mattoon, Illinois, where he hopes to discover who killed his father and save the life of Nika, a woman he has fallen for. You may have quite a few laughs at Mike’s sarcasm and approach throughout. Consistently rated high.

    Continue Reading
  • Free PERIL [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Gerard Mayes is in a bind. He’s committed most of the seven deadly sins and is trying to avoid paying the price.

    I balance on the precipice of life.

    Friends and family have turned their backs on me and walked into the shadowland.

    Police and thieves are shouting Jump, Ger. Do it.

    Ladies, don’t let your man read this book. You don’t want him getting ideas on how to misbehave.

    Fellas, keep your copy well hidden.

    Continue Reading
  • Free Tears Into Wine [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    A short surreal tale about a poet and love. By the author of MachoPoni and SinEaster. This story is included in the collection, The Redemption of Reckoning.

    Continue Reading
  • Highland Blessings [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Highland Blessings is the story of a highland warrior who kidnaps the daughter of his greatest enemy and clan chief to honor a promise he made to his dying father. Bryce MacPhearson, a highland warrior, kidnaps Akira MacKenzie on her wedding day.

    Continue Reading
  • Free Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    Newly widowed Charlotte Figg purchases a double-wide trailer sight unseen and moves to the Paradise Trailer Park with her dog, Lucky. Unfortunately, neither the trailer nor Paradise are what Charlotte expected. Her trailer is a ramshackle old place.

    Continue Reading
  • Free They Almost Always Come Home [Kindle Edition]

    9 November 2011
    0 Views

    In Ruchti’s debut faith-based novel, Libby and Greg’s marriage is sputtering in the wake of their daughter’s death. Libby’s thinking about leaving—until she’s faced with the prospect of becoming a widow when Greg fails to return from a solo trip to the Canadian wilderness. As Libby, her best friend Jen, and father-in-law Frank go after Greg to bring him back or learn his fate, Libby also learns about herself, family, and faith. It’s a great premise, and Ruchti has enough energy to make the suspense last for just about the whole book, even as she unpacks the marriage troubles in the background and the character interplay among the searchers in the foreground. A lot of readers will like Libby, who is flawed enough to be humble and teachable; a few might find her brittle and defensive wit (rocks with bad toupees of lichen) a little much. Libby’s friend Jen, however, is improbably saintly. Crisp dialogue propels the story forward unobtrusively. Ruchti shows imagination and promise. (May)
    Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

    Continue Reading